Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Ricardorider
Senior Contributor

Hi everyone

Am new to the forums, I live in Melbourne, was retrenched March 2016 and working contract jobs since early 2010. I have had anxiety and depression for a while now. being treated by two very good professionals. My age is a major barrier to getting a job, so is my previous work history, over /under qualified, too young to retire / too old to work. Hard to handle as i used to work in the employment field.

My motivation is up and down, i like to cycle but the lack of motivation of really keeps me off the bike and staying fitter . So i'm here 🙂  Being unemployed is isolating and lack of money stops me from doing a few things as well. Stay safe & warm tonight everyone, 🙂

7 REPLIES 7

Re: Hi everyone

I can relate.

I can relate too @Ricardorider. I think you are doing amazingly well. I don't know much about you but you did express yourself well. I would focus on what you are good at and perhaps set yourself some fitness goals. Keeping putting one foot in front of the other, chin up mate!!

Thanks GreyTom, I have seen this up close and personal in one my former jobs. We have to re-invent oursleves so many times and get jaded to the point of menatl exhaustion. I thought perhaps naively that "it wouldn;t happen to me"  Have re-invented myself 4 times and am on my 5th. Does it get easier, no. Am that bit older, wiser yes. But 'that bit older' is the difference!