Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Organism
Casual Contributor

Hi

Hi 

This is my first time here. My main reason for coming is to connect with other people with schizophrenia who still hear voices and how to deal with it. I don't get to discuss things with people in the real world due to lack of social connections. I am also diagnosed with social anxiety disorder and substance abuse disorder (in full remission), so anything in these areas are of interest to me. I've been diagnosed with schizophrenia for a 18months. I hear voices daily and my delusions are that these voices are possessing spirits or demonic in nature. The medication does help and without it I think I would be suicidal by now as I was experiencing it for 2 years before I got treatment. The voices can wear you down. I'm without substances for over 3 years as I stopped when I first got symptoms but the symptoms didn't go away (and still haven't). I still have regular cravings but the discomfort from the illness makes you seek out some alternative relief. This is difficult. 

I'm also concerned about the life expectancy of schizophrenics is 20yeard less than the general population. Mainly due to cardiovascular issues - related to obesity, type 2 diabetes, cholesterol, smoking, lack of exercise ect.. also 80% of schizophrenics smoke I find that scary. I only ever smoked when using substances so have stopped for now. This life expectancy figure scarese a bit. 

Cheers 

5 REPLIES 5
Former-Member
Not applicable

Re: Hi

Hi @Organism and welcome to the forums!