Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Lemonjuice
Senior Contributor

Suicide prevention program

Hi, I haven't been on for a while, hope everyone is well.

My new counsellor has talked to her supervisors and they are insisting that I go for a psych assessment by a psychiatrist and join a program that provides an intensive suicide prevention course or something like that.  I am seeing one of their intake people on Monday.  This feels really weird to me, my attempts and feelings have always been secret.  I just tough it out and I have been doing that for about 40 years.  I am high funtioning, bubbly, friendly, most of the time and always caring for others.  The idea that someone is paying attention or caring for me, seeing me, like I exist, feels so alien and rather uncomfortable.  I'm a bit scared and frustrated, cause there's a part of me that wants to die and this is going the wrong direction. This is going to be a waste of time, I have so much on, right now. Just not going to think about it, go and be my happy self, limit the damage and get out of the situation.  So stupid, I let myself talk about how bad I get when I was feeling weak and now I am stuck with a two month program.🤦‍♀️:face_with_rolling_eyes:

13 REPLIES 13

Re: Suicide prevention program

Hi @Lemonjuice, good to see you again. Thanks for sharing with us, it must be a new experience to be opening that part of your life with these carers and seeing their support. Is there any part of you that is feeling a little relieved to be talking to them about it? Sending love Heart