Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Former-Member
Not applicable

Familial fears

Hi everyone! Once again I’m very new to this (only my second post) so please forgive any informalities, anything I might say that seems offensive or any misuse of terminology, this whole space is very fresh to me and I am still getting used to it!

I recently posted about some fears I was having concerning my mental health, for which I received great amounts of support for from fellow users here. All of these messages of support offer the same idea, see a gp and seek help if it is concerning. So that what I have decided I will do!

This is where my “issues” come into play. Part of the reason for seeking a gp’s help is for the fact of me being terribly afraid to talk to people about what’s going on in my head as I know they will think it’s all a Facade and be angry or worse, laugh in my face. 

Now I need some help! Seeing as I’m still underage (very soon not to be), I would need a parent or guardian to take me to my gp in order to be referred to a psychiatrist if needed. The thing is though that no one in my family is very mental health aware. We all know about mental illnesses, but because no one we personally know and care about has ever been diagnosed it never really came up in conversation. I’m very unsure of how to broach the subject with my family of seeking support and possibly therapy. 

As a family we have had therapy before (related to extended issues) but there was never any conversation about why we should be doing it. 

What I really want to know is how did any of you guys out there ever get to a point of being able to talk to your families about issues like mental illness?