Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Spida
Casual Contributor

ECT and thoughts please

Hi I’m new to asking for help. I have a long list of things including depression, ptsd, anxiety and eating disorder. I feel like I have exhausted medication options and I’m not getting anywhere. Latest suggestion by my GP and psych and psychiatrist is Electrotherapy Treatment. I’m wondering if anyone else has had treatment if they found it work and side effects. I will have to have 2 weeks off work and I can’t afford this and if it’s not going to work I just don’t know. I’m not sure what to do next though and I’m struggling 

6 REPLIES 6

Re: ECT and thoughts please

Hi @Spida electro therapy was suggested to me bye my gp and psychiatrist long ago. However I never went down that path. On and off I dabbled in different oral meds for about 7-8 years and I never really took them seriously. I would be to busy winging about the side effects then to realise what they were preventing (a major relapse and time in hospital) I never did commit to oral meds on a daily basis and ended up on the depot injection. And I've been stuck on it for about 5-6 years now. End results... I'm partly stable but as for quality of life. It's to be questioned. It ain't that good. I'd say do your research about ect and find out all the details. I do remember my nurse suggesting electro therapy to me. And Saying it was good. But I was to afraid to go through with it. And never done it. Eude.