Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Basmith
Casual Contributor

Anxiety and BPD

Hi, I'm new here and I've never done anything like this before, but I wanted to share my story to see if there was anyone in a similar situation that I could chat with. 

I am 22 and a student nurse about to finish up study and I feel like I need to get my mental health under control before I start working. 

Up until recently I had no idea what was wrong with me, I have been an anxious person my entire life but I always just put it down to being an "over thinker". I was diagnosed with anorexia at 15 and this contributed to ongoing anxiety and depression. Because I was diagnosed with an eating disorder a lot of my other symptoms were brushed aside by the health care team and just put down to the ED. Recently my mental health started to decline and my anxiety took control, I was having panic attacks which was scary because I had no one to talk to about it. My other symptoms were, extreme mood changes, self destructive behaviours, and depression. I finally saw a psychiatrist and I was diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder. At first this was a shock to me due to the stigma and all the bad things I had heard. I didn't want to be associated with that, because I had the misconception that BPD made you a bad person. Now that I have done my research and understand that BPD is an illness that deserves as much awareness and support and any other mental illness. I wanted to reach out and get some support because I am lost and have no one to speak to about it.