Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Forum News and Updates

sphinx
Contributor

Help with a project

Hi. I am new to the forum and not sure if I am posting this in the right place! Basically I am after some help with a project that I am starting that will help raise awareness about mental illness.

I have suffered from anxiety for a number of years. I am an amatuer photographer that has just had my first mini exhibition and am now wanting to do another that surrounds mental health issues. I would like to ask people if they could write to me in words a picture that describes what their illness feels like (does that make sense?). So any feedback to how I go about this, or if anyone woud like to volunteer their description would be greatly appreciated (it would be done anonymously with just the illness and age noted). I am very aware of wanting to do this in a manner that does not offend anyone.

The end goal is to create photos from these descriptions and exhibit them with proceeds going to mental health organisations. Thanks very much 

26 REPLIES 26

Re: Help with a project

Hi @sphinx and welcome to the forums. 🙂

I'm not sure of the protocols with these things either but your post has not been moderated so I think it's all okay. I think you show great respect in the way you are approaching the SANE community and it's an interesting question for us to ponder.

I am being treated for bipolar, am 53. This is a kind of poem, or a collection of descriptive words. It's about day to day life for me sometimes:

Old TV goes to static

bang at the back spark igniting

volume vibrant sinking quiet

noisy silence sleep a reward

Hi @Mazarita and @sphinx

Welcome to the forums @sphinx!